2020 IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education

Deadline: October 19, 2019.

IIE created these awards in 2001 to promote and honor the most outstanding initiatives being conducted in international higher education by IIENetwork member universities and colleges. We are particularly interested in highlighting innovative initiatives or programs that address a specific need, remove institutional barriers, and broaden the base of participation in international teaching and learning on campus



Category 1: Internationalizing the Campus
Advancing the curriculum development, fostering international opportunities, integrating industry, and driving internationalization of the campus through creative programming. (Note that nominations in this category should be focused on a particular program or initiative as opposed to outlining a broad internationalization plan)

Category 2: Study Abroad
Providing innovative programs and services to make study abroad accessible and equitable for a broader student population.

Category 3: Best Practices in International Partnerships
Recognizing strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts that demonstrate strong, sustainable linkages among higher education institutions or other counterparts such as government, local community, NGOs.

Category 4: Internationalizing the Community College Campus
Creating innovative programs and services to make international opportunities accessible to community college students.



  • Only IIENetwork Member Institutions are eligible to apply and we encourage new members to join IIENetwork in order to submit a nomination for the Awards.
  • Applications are welcome from U.S. and international (non-U.S.) members.
  • Note, for the Partnerships category, at least one of the partnering institutions must be an IIENetwork member. If you are unsure of your institution’s membership status, contact membership@iie.org
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the Heiskell Award Selection Committees in the Fall, and winners will be contacted at the end of the year.



1. Winning programs will be broadly recognized at IIE’s Best Practices Conference, showcased on the IIE website and in the IIENetworker magazine.

2. Winners will also be presented with an award certificate, a $1,000 prize (shared by winning institutions in the Partnership category) and travel costs to NYC for the formal Awards Ceremony.




Click here to apply

error: Content is protected !!