2021 Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) for Masters Program

Deadline: June 10, 2021.

Applications for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS)  are now open. The scholarships offer a unique opportunity to study a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country.

Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships are a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, to broaden horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime. Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to the shared challenges we face – both in their home countries and those that host them. As an active part of the Commonwealth network, scholars will help shape its future.


  1. Citizens (or those who hold refugee status) in a Commonwealth country are welcome to apply.
  2.  Applicants must apply for a QECS award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship.
  3. There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award.
  4. You must have already completed your degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application. As part of the application process you will be asked to provide a copy of your final transcript and degree certificate.
  5. The QECS awards are only hosted by low and middle income countries. Therefore these awards will not be hosted in Canada, the UK or Australia.
  6. QECS are available for master’s degrees only.


Award recipients receive:

  • Fully-funded tuition fees
  • Living expenses allowance (stipend) for duration of award
  • Return economy flights to their host country
  • An arrival allowance
  • Research support grant – on request only; subject to approval


  1. The University of the South Pacific (USP)
  2. Papua New Guinea University of Technology
  3. North-West University
  4. Rhodes University
  5. Stellenbosch University
  6. University of Pretoria (UP)
  7. University of Venda 
  8. University of Colombo 
  9. University of Sri Jayewardenepura Sri Lanka (USJ)


error: Content is protected !!