2021 Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards

Deadline: January 31, 2021.

The Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards recognise and celebrate the contributions that innovators in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors are making in advancing the sustainable development goals in Commonwealth countries.


Three awards will be given in each of the following five categories:

  • Improve the well-being of Commonwealth PEOPLE
  • Improve PROSPERITY in the Commonwealth
  • Protect the PLANET and the natural environment in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PEACE and justice in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PARTNERSHIPS for development in the Commonwealth.

There will be three award winners in each of the five categories, adding up to a total of 15 winners.  In each of the five categories, one winner will be selected from the public sector (national/regional/local government), one winner from will be from civil society / not-for-profit sector and one winner will be an entrepreneur or a private sector company.


Nominees must be Commonwealth citizens or organisations from the public, private or voluntary sectors based in a Commonwealth country. The nominated innovation should be based in or originate in a Commonwealth country.

  • Nominees can be individuals, groups or teams, organisations, companies, charities or government ministries / departments / agencies.
  • Nominees must be directly engaged in developing their innovations, either in a full-time, part-time or voluntary capacity.
  • Nominees must be Commonwealth citizens, governments or public sector organisations in Commonwealth countries, private enterprises based in Commonwealth countries or civil society / not-for-profit organisations based in Commonwealth countries.
  • Nominated innovations must be able to demonstrate impact or potential in achieving progress on one or more of the 17 SDGs in a Commonwealth country (or countries).
  • Nominees must be willing to take part in Commonwealth-supported activities and initiatives related to the Commonwealth Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards.


  1. Each award winner will receive a trophy, a certificate and prize money of £3,000.
  2. Award winners will receive ongoing support for their work and may also be invited to participate in high-level forums such as the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Commonwealth Business Forum and Commonwealth Games.



Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!