2020 One World Media Awards for Journalists and Filmmakers Worldwide

Deadline: February 13, 2020.

Established in 1988, the One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of developing countries, reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people around the globe.

Every year, hundreds of entries from all over the world are judged by our panels of distinguished professionals, each carefully selected from the media and non-profit sectors for their wide ranging experience and expertise.


The One World Media Awards celebrate work across 14 categories and a wide range of media platforms, highlighting the unique role of journalists and filmmakers in bridging the divide between cultures worldwide.

1. Digital Media Award

2. Environmental Reporting Award

3. Feature Documentary Award

4. International Journalist of the Year Award

5. News Award

6. New Voice Award

7. Popular Features Award

8. Print Award

9. Radio and Media Award

10. Refugee Reporting Award

11. Short Film Award

12. Special Award

13. Student Award

14. Television Documentary Award


All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to the developing world, including Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States. Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

Entries must have had their first screening, broadcast, theatrical release, launch or publication between 14 February 2019 and 13 February 2020.

With the exception of the Special Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • the entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • the entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • the entry has been screened at an international film festival


Entries will be evaluated based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

Relevance of the coverage

  • The focus must be on stories or topics in, about or related to a developing country
  • Include the voices and views of people in/from developing countries

Quality of the coverage

  • Well-crafted, structured and engaging
  • High production and editorial values
  • Distils and presents complex topics to the target audience in an understandable and accessible way

Originality and creativity of the coverage

  • All entries should highlight underreported stories or issues, or explore new angles on familiar topics.
  • We are particularly looking at how the story is told: Is it amplifying voices that are normally unheard? Is it an inspiring story that will create change? Does the story challenge misperceptions or stereotypes of developing countries?

Substance and accuracy of the coverage

  • Depth of research and analysis
  • Well-researched, accurate and balanced reporting

Impact and reach of the coverage

  • Demonstrates the actual impact or potential for the coverage to catalyse change
  • May have prompted additional media coverage or policy change
  • Consideration may be given to the total audience reached


  • A unique opportunity to be recognised by some of the industry’s top professionals and to gain a wider audience for your work
  • The only Awards recognising excellence in international journalism and filmmaking specifically from and about developing countries
  • They are established, with 31 years of providing a platform for important stories to be shared and celebrated
  • They are diverse and open to entries from anywhere in the world

OFFICIAL LINK: https://www.oneworldmedia.org.uk/awards/

Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!