2020 Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

Deadline: December 15, 2019.

For the fourth year in a row, ONE is proud to partner with the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) and the Elliott family to recognize journalists in Africa who are strengthening African voices through their reporting. The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling is now accepting entries for 2020. This prestigious award will honor an up-and-coming journalist in Africa telling important stories through quality reporting.

This prestigious annual award honors an emerging journalist in Africa who strives to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent.



  • The contest is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that uses top-notch reporting to capture stories of modern Africa. The submission can be a feature story; an in-depth, investigative or explanatory piece; or a multimedia report or documentary.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations.
  • The submitted story must have been published between Dec. 1, 2018, and Dec. 1, 2019.



1. In a special study tour organized by ICFJ, the winner will spend time in U.S. newsrooms in Washington, D.C. and New York City to learn new skills and share knowledge.

2. The winner also completes a two-week internship in London at The Economist’s headquarters in London, United Kingdom.

3. To take full advantage of the tour and the internship, applicants must speak English, even if they work in another language.

4. The winner also receives a US$5,000 cash prize.




Click here to apply

Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!