2020 Douglas A. Garofalo Fellowship for Emerging Designers Worldwide

Deadline: January 20, 2020.

Named in honor of award-winning architect and educator Doug Garofalo (1958–2011), the Douglas A. Garofalo Fellowship is an annual nine-month teaching fellowship that provides an emerging designer the opportunity to teach studio and seminar courses in the undergraduate and graduate programs and conduct independent design research. During its second semester, the fellowship includes a public lecture at the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in Fine Arts and an exhibition, which is typically held at the school.


1. The Douglas A. Garofalo Fellowship is a nine-month teaching and research fellowship open to emerging designers from any location.

2. Applicants must apply as individuals; no group applications will be accepted.

3. The successful candidate will be expected to be in primary residence in Chicago from mid-August 2020 through mid-May 2021.


Applicants should prepare the following materials for submission via the web form:

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Proposal describing research to be conducted as a Garofalo Fellow (500–750 words)
  • Portfolio of selected work (no more than ten pages)
  • Names and contact information of three references


Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!