2020 DAAD/PLAAS NELGA Scholarship for Masters and Doctoral Studies

Deadline: November 30, 2019.

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) in collaboration with the Institute for Poverty, Land & Agrarian Studies (PLAAS), University of the Western Cape (UWC), is offering in-country/in-region scholarships, within the Network of Excellence for Land Governance in Africa (NELGA). This forms part of the Strengthening Advisory Capacities for Land Governance in Africa (SLGA) programme funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (MBZ).
DAAD is offering competitive scholarships for Masters and Doctoral Studies in Poverty, Land & Agrarian Studies, offered at PLAAS, UWC. These scholarships are aimed at young candidates, mid-career professionals, researchers and university staff. Female applicants and candidates from less privileged regions or groups are especially encouraged to participate in the programme.
The programme supports those in subject areas with strong relevance to land governance/land management. We propose the following topic areas for scholarships:
  • Land tenure, including customary tenure, titling and land markets
  • Water, forestry, fisheries and ecosystems management
  • Farming systems, agricultural development and the rural non-farm economy
  • Agricultural investment and inclusive business models
  • Governance, policy frameworks and investment standards
  • Population, migration and urbanisation
  • Climate change mitigation and adaptation
  • Agro-food systems, food prices and food security
  • Regional cooperation and integration and the agro-food system


1. have successfully completed generally a three-year university degree (Master candidates) or a two-year university degree (doctoral candidates) with above average results (upper third of class)

2. Clearly show motivation and strong commitment

3. Have thorough knowledge of the language of instruction

4. Must be nationalsor permanent resident of an African country

5 Hold a SAQA Certificate of Evaluation or be in the process of obtaining one if they hold a non-South African university degree

6. Should generally be a) staff member of a public university.

7. Be candidate considered for teaching or research staff recruitment,

8. Be from the public sector.Female applicants and candidates from less privileged regions or groups are especially encouraged to participate in the programme.



1. Tuition fees

2. Study and research allowance

3. Printing Allowance

4. Monthly Scholarship (Accommodation, Food etc.)

5. Travel allowance (InRegion only)

6. Insurance (for In-Region only)




Click here to apply

Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!