2019 Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships in South Africa

Deadline: June 26, 2019.

Applications are now open for the second round of Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships. Join more than 35,000 individuals who have benefitted from the life-changing opportunities a Commonwealth Scholarship offers and contribute to the development of the future Commonwealth. 4 Scholarships are available in South Africa, starting in January-February 2020

The following universities are participating:

University of KwaZulu-Natal – the following courses are available/eligible for this award:

College of Law and Management Studies

  • any courses

College of Heath Sciences

  • any courses

College of Agriculture, Engineering and Sciences:

  • MSc Chemistry
  • MSc Physics
  • MSc Mathematics
  • MSc Statistics
  • MSc Computer Science
  • MSc Agriculture
  • MSc Engineering

University of Johannesburg (UJ) – all Master’s courses are available/eligible for this award.

North West University (NWU) – the following courses are available/eligible for this award:

Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences:

  • MSc Astrophysics – Physics, Chemistry, Maths required
  • MSc Environmental Sciences – Physics, Chemistry, Maths required
  • MSc Chemistry – Physics, Chemistry, Maths required

Faculty of Engineering:

  • MSC in Industrial Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences:

  • MSc Pharmacology
  • MSc Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • MSc Pharmaceutics

Faculty of Humanities:

  • MA in History
  • MA in Music
  • MA in Social Anthropology
  • MA in Development Studies
  • MA in International Relations

Basic requirements for Master’s studies as well as faculty specific requirements as indicated in the faculty yearbooks.

University of Pretoria (UP) – all Master’s courses are available.

Rhodes University – all full-time postgraduate courses with registration based at Rhodes University in Grahamstown are eligible for this award.

Stellenbosch University (SU) – the following courses are available:

  • MPhil – Psychiatry (Posttraumatic Stress disorder)
  • MSc (Polymer science)
  • MEng (Process) – Process Engineering
  • MSc (Mathematics)
  • MSc (Medical microbiology)
  • MA (Political science)

Entry Requirements: Honours degree obtained average of 60% minimum

Tshwane University of Technology – all Master’s courses are available.

University of Venda – all Master’s courses are available.

University of Witwatersrand (Wits) – all Master’s courses are available.



Before applying, please check you meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • You must be a citizen of (or hold refugee status in) a Commonwealth country other than the country hosting the award
  • You must have completed an undergraduate degree at a 2:1 equivalent level (or that will enable you to gain entry to a postgraduate course)



1) A life-changing opportunity for cultural exchange and academic collaboration, studying in unique environments across the globe.

2) Awards are for two-year Master’s degrees and are not applicable to distance learning courses.

3) Award allowances include:

  • Fully-funded tuition fees
  • Living expenses (stipend) for duration of award
  • Return economy flight
  • One-off arrival allowance
  • Research support grant (on request)



1) Make sure that you have the following documentation to upload to your application:

  • High school certificate
  • Undergraduate transcript (and graduation certificate)
  • Two references – preferably academic
  • Scan of passport or national ID card
  • Proof of English language ability if English is not your first language

2) Complete a QECS application online

3) Submit a separate application for admission to your chosen course. For NWU, UP, Rhodes, SU and Wits you will need to submit an application for university admission at the same time as for scholarship.




Click here to apply

Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!