2023 World Trade Organization Young Professionals Programme

Deadline: May 11, 2022.

The WTO Young Professionals Programme (YPP) is a unique opportunity for qualified young professionals up to the age of 32 years, as at 1 January 2023, from WTO Members with low or no professional representation in the WTO Secretariat, to enhance their knowledge and skills on WTO and international trade issues.  The Programme aims to widen the pool of professionals from these WTO Members, who can later be more competitive with respect to recruitment in the WTO and/or other regional and international organizations.


The selected Young Professional will be placed in a specific Division of the WTO Secretariat in accordance with the needs and priorities of the Organization; and based on the identified areas of interest of the Young Professional. Each Young Professional may express interest in not more than three areas of WTO work; and in order of preference.

The areas of work may include, inter alia, the following (in alphabetical order): Accessions, Agriculture, Climate change, Communications, Council and Trade Negotiations, Digital Trade, Dispute Settlement, Economic Research and Statistics, External relations, Government Procurement, Intellectual Property Rights, Investment Facilitation for Development, Micro, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (MSMEs), Market Access (tariffs and non-tariff barriers), Sanitary and Phytosanitary measures, Technical Barriers to Trade, Trade and Development, Trade and Environment, Trade Facilitation, Trade Finance, Trade and Gender, Trade in Services and Investment, Trade Policy Analysis, Trade-Related Technical Assistance, – Trade Remedies (anti-dumping and countervailing duties).


  1. EDUCATION: Advanced university degree in economics, econometrics, international relations, law, environment studies, or other trade-related subjects relevant to the work of the WTO and/or ongoing discussions in the WTO (e.g. international investment law, trade and gender, etc.). Applicants must have obtained their advanced university degree by the time they submit their application.
  2. WORK EXPERIENCE: Minimum two (2) years of professional experience relevant to the work of the WTO.
  3. LANGUAGE: Fluency in English. A good working knowledge of either French or Spanish would be an advantage.
  4. KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS: General knowledge of the work of the WTO, Technical knowledge in one or more of the areas of work indicated above, Good drafting skills in English, Ability to draft in French and/or Spanish would be an advantage, Ability to work independently and as part of a team, in a multicultural environment, Demonstrated strong interest in international trade and the multilateral trading system and Commitment and passion for trade or WTO-related work.


CHF 4,000


Preference shall be given to nationals from WTO Members without any representation as well as from developing and least developed countries (LDCs) Members with low representation (one or two staff members) at the professional level in the Secretariat (list below). Particular attention will be given to developing and LDCs WTO Members that  have not participated in previous cohorts of the YPP (marked with an asterisk in list below). 

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola*, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela*, Plurinational State of Bolivia*, Botswana*, Brunei Darussalam*, Burkina Faso*, Burundi*, Cabo Verde*, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic*, Chad*, Chile, Congo*, Democratic Republic of the Congo*, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Djibouti*, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Eswatini, ,Fiji, Gabon*, Gambia*, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada*, Guatemala, Guinea*, Guinea-Bissau*, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong China, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Jamaica*, Jordan*, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait*, Kyrgyz Republic*, Lao People’s Democratic Republic*, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao China, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia*, Maldives, Mali*, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius*, Moldova*, Mongolia, Republic of Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar*, Namibia, Nepal*, Nicaragua, Niger*, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Qatar*, Rwanda*, Saint Kitts and Nevis*, Saint Lucia*, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa*, Saudi Arabia*, Senegal*, Seychelles*, Sierra Leone*, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands*, South Africa*, Sri Lanka, Suriname*, Chinese Taipei, Tajikistan, Tanzania*, Thailand, Togo, Tonga*, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates*, Uruguay*, Vanuatu*, Viet Nam, Yemen*, Zambia, Zimbabwe*.


error: Content is protected !!