2023 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

Deadline: March 3, 2023.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja. The Award recognizes the importance of visual journalistic work that inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world. Created in 2014 with a $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Award will be given annually to a woman photojournalist whose work reflects courage and dedication, as Anja’s does. 


  • The award is open to women, nonbinary and gender nonconforming journalists.
  • The candidate must be working as a journalist full-time, and journalism must be their primary profession.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.


The Award winner will be publicly honored, have her work showcased, and receive a cash prize of $20,000.


  • Sign up for a free Picter account to submit for consideration. We are proud to work with Picter as our photography contest platform for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award.
  • Each nomination and application must include candidate informationwork samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.
  • A candidate may either self-nominate or be nominated by an editor, mentor or journalist peer. If you are nominating someone else, you may either submit a full application (including a statement and work samples) or fill out an abbreviated nomination form via Google Forms. If you fill out the Google Form with the candidate’s information by February 24, 2023, we will contact them and tell them you have nominated them to apply for the award. Please note that filling out the Google Form does not constitute or replace a full application in Picter, which must be submitted for the jury’s consideration.


error: Content is protected !!