2023 African Fact-Checking Awards for African Journalists

Deadline: June 30, 2023.

The African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme honouring fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are in their tenth year. 

Entries for the 2023 awards are now open to journalists, journalism students, and professional fact-checkers – across the continent. 

In 2022, we received 190 entries from 24 African countries. We expect even more in 2023. 

To qualify, entries must have been first published or broadcast in the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, is either misleading or wrong. 

The awards have three categories, with honours going to a winner and a runner-up. The categories are:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist 
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Professional Fact-Checker
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist


To be eligible, entries for this competition must:

-Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.

-Expose a claim on an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong.

-Be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

-Be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on 30 June 2023. Late entries will not be accepted.

-Be received by the organisers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed.

-Fact-checks can be published/broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, should the fact-checking report not be in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.

-By submitting an entry, the entrant confirms that they are the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant’s responsibility

-Reports published by Africa Check are not eligible for the competition.


  1. The winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a prize of US$3,000.
  2. The runners-up will receive $1,500.
  3. The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000. 


error: Content is protected !!