2020 Commonwealth Professional Fellowships for Mid-Career Professionals

Deadline: September 20, 2019.

Commonwealth Professional Fellowships are for mid-career professionals from low and middle income Commonwealth countries to spend between six weeks and three months at a UK Host organisation working in their sector on a programme of professional development.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Professional Fellowships provide talented and motivated professionals with the opportunity to enhance knowledge and skills in their given sector.

These Fellowships are offered under six development themes:

1.Science and technology for development
2.Strengthening health systems and capacity
3.Promoting global prosperity
4.Strengthening global peace, security and governance
5.Strengthening resilience and response to crises
6.Access, inclusion and opportunity



To be eligible for these fellowships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Have at least five years’ full-time, or equivalent part-time, relevant work experience, in a profession related to the subject of the Fellowships programme, by the proposed start of the fellowship – voluntary work experience will not be counted towards this minimum
  • Be in employment at the time of application that they will return to upon completion of the fellowship
  • Not have undertaken a Commonwealth Professional Fellowship within the last five years (at the time of application)
  • Not be seeking to undertake an academic programme of research or study in the UK. Academics are eligible to apply for the scheme, but only to undertake programmes of academic management, not research or courses relevant to their research subject
  • Be available to undertake the Fellowship between 10 February 2020 and 16 March 2020. You should check exact dates with the prospective Host.



The following organisations have been selected by the Commission to host Professional Fellowships for the current round.  Information on each programme along with the eligibility criteria is available below for each organisation as well as a link to their Website for more information.   Please note the eligibility criteria carefully as applications not matching the stated criteria will be deemed ineligible and will not be considered by the Host organisation.

African Prisons Project
Bees for Development Trust
British Geological Survey
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Cardiff University School of History, Archaeology and Religion
Cardiff University, School of Modern Languages
Cardiff University, The Phoenix Project
Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council
Commonwealth Telecommunication Organisation
Conciliation Resources
Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience, King’s College London
Knowledge for Change
Liverpool John Moores University, School of Nursing
London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust
Meriden Family Programme
Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust
UCL PRIMENT Clinical Trials, Research Department of Primary Care
University of East London
University of Salford
World Child Cancer UK



Each fellowship provides:
• Approved return airfare from the Fellow’s home country to the UK
• Stipend (living allowance) payable monthly (or pro rata) for the duration of the award at the rate of £1,696 per month, or £2,104 per month for those at organisations in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2019-2020 levels). Exceptionally, depending on the programme arranged, a peripatetic living allowance may be payable. Further details if applicable will be given at the time of offer
• Arrival allowance of up to £953.45 at current rates, including an element for warm clothing and reimbursement of the standard visa application fee
• Flat rate contribution of £800 to the costs of the Host organisation relating to the administration and support of the Fellow, setting up of appropriate meetings, any materials required, and incidental travel for the Fellow during the award (to be paid to the Host organisation on receipt of an invoice)
• Fees of up to a maximum of £2,000 will be agreed for awards under two months and up to a maximum of £3000 for awards of three months (to be paid to the Host organisation on receipt of an invoice)



Applications must be made using the CSC’s Online Application Form. Information on how to use this is available
at http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/scholarships/commonwealth-professional-fellowships/

Stage 1: Prospective Host organisations must first submit an application to CSC through our online application form.
As part of the application process the Host organisation will be asked to provide documentation to show they meet the eligibility requirements.

Stage 2: Applications from Host organisations will be reviewed by a Commission selection panel with results
communicated to all organisations who applied.

Stage 3: Prospective Fellows will then be invited to apply for a programme at a specific Host organisation using the CSC’s
online application form.

Stage 4: These applications will be shared with Host organisations through Huddle. Host organisations will submit the
names of between two and five Fellows they wish to nominate to the Commission

Stage 5: The Commission will make the final selections of individual Fellows.
At least two references must be submitted for each Fellow, one of which must be from their current employer.




Click here to apply

error: Content is protected !!