2019 International Gender Equality Prize

DEADLINE: December 31, 2018.

The call for proposals for the Finnish Government’s International Gender Equality Prize is now open to the public. The prize, which will be awarded for the second time in autumn 2019, can go to a person or organization working to promote gender equality in an internationally significant way

The prize, established in 2017 in honor of the 100th anniversary of Finland’s independence, was first awarded to Federal Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel, whose life’s work has made her one of the world’s most influential people and an example to many women and girls.

The Government of Finland awards the prize based on the suggestion of an international jury. The members of the jury for 2019 are Pekka Haavisto (chair), Member of Parliament, Eva Biaudet, President of the National Council of Women of Finland, Katja Iversen, President and CEO of Women Deliver, Anneli Jätteenmäki, Member of the European Parliament and first female Prime Minister of Finland, and Dean Peacock, co-founder and Co-Executive Director of South African NGO Sonke Gender Justice. The International Gender Equality Prize is awarded once every two years in cooperation with the City of Tampere. The next prize will be awarded in autumn 2019.

SOS FEVVF, the recipient of the sum donated as part of the International Gender Equality Prize in 2017, is using the funds to realise their long-time dream of establishing a residential shelter. Construction work on the shelter, located in the Nigerien capital of Niamey, began in mid-October.

“Our goal is for the shelter, which we call the house of hope, to be ready to open its doors at the start of 2019. We will begin our operations in temporary facilities before the new building is complete,” Mariama Moussa”




  • Open to person or an organisation that has advanced gender equality in a globally significant way;
  • Nominations must be written in English;
  • All relevant information must be included in the form; additional information sent separately will not be accepted;
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.




The prize includes a sum of EUR 300,000, which is intended not for the recipients themselves, but is rather directed to a cause that advances gender equality.





error: Content is protected !!