2019 Fentress Global Challenge

DEADLINE: May 31, 2019.

The Fentress Global Challenge is an annual global competition created to engage students worldwide in exploration of future design possibilities in public architecture.

Global commerce and the unprecedented demand for travel and have resulted in the proliferation of airports around the world. In their short history, terminal buildings have been criticized for employing generic architectural forms that are unapologetically disconnected from their context and cultural identity. Technical complexity and functional design have often taken precedence over quality and comfort for users.

In less than a century, the airport has emerged as a new architectural typology that is as important as other large-scale public buildings such as museums, libraries, temples, and courthouses. Airports are among the most complex and highly frequented transportation hubs, but they are also increasingly important places for work, commerce, recreation, and culture. The rapid evolution of airports necessitates the incorporation of the latest developments in technology, design, and social trends around the globe.



  • The Fentress Global Challenge (FGC) competition is open to graduate and undergraduate students who are currently pursuing architecture or engineering degrees in an accredited university program, as well as recent graduates (within the last four years) with a degree in architecture or engineering.
  • Students must provide proof of active enrollment status: a scanned copy of their student ID and current course schedule. Recent graduates must provide a scanned copy of their diploma.



  • First Prize: US$10,000 Cash + Event 
    • The top prize includes US$10,000 cash and the opportunity to accompany Curt Fentress to a prestigious architectural event where you will receive your award.
    • Airfare, lodging, and entrance fee will be paid for by Fentress Architects, not to exceed US$5,000. Winners are responsible for obtaining necessary visas and paperwork. If entering as a group, the monetary prize and attendance at the architectural event will be distributed equally.
  • Second Prize: US$3,000
  • Third Prize: US$2,000





Post a Comment

error: Content is protected !!