2019 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships at Newcastle University

Deadline: March 7, 2019.

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Commission and the University to contribute to development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. The intended beneficiaries are high-quality postgraduate students who have not studied extensively overseas before and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.



To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2019
  • By September 2019, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  • Be from Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.



The University has received 7 awards under this scheme to support scholars commencing their studies in 2019/20. The awards are available to students taking the following courses:



  • Tuition fees
  • Living expenses
  • Return economy air fare
  • Study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas
  • Warm clothing allowance




1. You must apply through the University’s online postgraduate application form to study an eligible Master’s course (please see list of eligible courses above) and then apply for the scholarship.

2. To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship please complete the Electronic Application Form here: http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/applicants/.



Student Financial Support
Newcastle University
King’s Gate
Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 191 208 8107/5537
E-mail: scholarship.applications@ncl.ac.uk




Commonwealth shared scholarship

error: Content is protected !!